IF WE LIKED EACH OTHER (Jovan)

Synopsis

Analeese is a young girl who lives in Vancouver Canada. She loves to read and write and fantasizes of many things in her life like being with her guy best friend Xavier. One evening she decides it is time to finally tell him the truth but how will she do that without ruining their friendship?

Character Descriptions

ANALEESE is 16 years old and loves to read, especially rom com books. She is very passionate about her dreams of becoming a journalist around the world. She is shy and has only ever had one close friend. She is also very clever, and has always done well in school. She lives with her younger sister, her mom and her dad.

XAVIER is also 16 years old and mostly loves to play basketball. He on the other hand despises reading and writing and is working hard for an athletic scholarship for university. He is energetic and very clumsy. He’s also barely ever on time. He is an only child, with a small dog to keep him company.

Set/Background

Upstage right where two trees are standing. Center Stage there is a bench. Downstage left is where the imaginary basketball court is. Lighting will stay normal throughout play but any extra lighting and sound changes can be found in the script.


SCENE ONE

(It’s a midsummer evening in July. Lights up. ANALEESE is sitting on the bench reading her journal, and checking her watch impatiently)

Analeese: (In a very annoyed tone)Ugh where is this guy? He’s always late (checks watch again and sighs). It’s okay, just go over what you’re going to say again. Hey Xave! (ANALEESE stands up and walks back and forth)I like you, in fact I’ve been in love with you since the seventh grade. Isn’t that crazy? Ughh I can’t say that! (ANALEESE sits back down.)

(XAVIER comes running out of breath, holding a basketball)

(ANALEESE takes a quick glance at XAVIER, then quickly looks away to show that she is mad.)

Xavier: (Out of breath)I’m so sorry I’m late, I lost track of time….Uhhh you wanna play ball? 

Analeese: No, I’ll pass. I don’t want to get my clothes dirty today (She looks at him subtly, hoping he would notice, and looks away again). 

(XAVIER looks back at ANALEESE)

Xavier: Okay then, that’s a nice shirt by the way. (Xavier turns away and starts playing basketball).

(ANALEESE picks up her journal and starts reading what she wrote)

(XAVIER sees her and is suddenly curious)

Xavier: Hey what’s that?

(ANALEESE panics but quickly calms down)

Analeese: N-nothing

Xavier: C’mon lemme seee

(XAVIER tries to snatch the journal from her hands but misses)

Analeese: Xave, it’s literally nothing

Xavier: (In a teasing voice)If it’s nothing, then why won’t you let me see?

Analeese: Cuz it’s a surprise, and I don’t want to ruin it.

Xavier: Crazyyy

(XAVIER gives up and goes back to playing basketball)

Analeese: (Under her breath) For you..

(XAVIER looks back at her)

Xavier: Hm did you say something? 

Analeese: What? No, nothing.

(XAVIER looks away suspiciously)

(Complete silence for a moment. XAVIER continues playing basketball, and Analeese watches for a bit. ANALEESE breaks the silence)

Analeese: Sooo how’s it going with Clara? Anything new?

Xavier: (Stops playing basketball for a moment, clearly tense about this subject) Uh yeah actually, (Slowly turns around) We broke up. I thought you knew?

Analeese: (Shockingly) No I didn’t. That’s awful! What happened?

(XAVIER goes to sit down beside ANALEESE)

Xavier: I don’t know man, something about me and you being too close.

Analeese: What? Did you tell her we were just best friends?

Xavier: Yeah I tried, but she just said that friends don’t look at friends that way. (Pause) It’s whatever though. 

Analeese: I’m so sorry Xave, is there anything I can do?

Xavier: It’s all good, thanks though. 

Analeese: Um- you know what’s funny though? Peter, the guy in my history class, said the same thing to me.

Xavier: He said that you guys should break up because you and your supposably girl best friend are too close with each other? 

Analeese: Okay, well not exactly the same thing, but he said that we would be a great couple. Crazy right?

Xavier: Yeah, crazy.

(ANALEESE realizes that this is her chance and quickly takes it)

Analeese: I mean have you ever thought about it? What if we did like each other, and what if we did start dating? 

Xavier: No, not really. (Gets up and goes back to playing basketball)

(ANALEESE responds sadly but is determined not to give up)

Analeese: Well think about it. What would our life be if we liked each other? 

Xavier: I don’t know, I guess it’d be somewhat different?

Analeese: Okay well I’ll tell you.

Xavier: Go for it. (Continues playing basketball)

Analeese: (Excitedly)You would have to ask me to be your girlfriend first. So you’ll surprise me with a bouquet of flowers-

Xavier: You’re allergic to flowers.

Analeese: They can be fake! It’s the thought that counts!

Xavier: Mhm whatever you say.

Analeese: And of course I’d say yes, and we’ll date all through highschool. (ANALEESE realizes he isn’t paying attention to her). And we’d take really cute photos and go to dances together, and we’d surprise each other with little gifts and- (Starts walking up to him) you would write me notes, even though you despise writing. (Quietly) But that would only happen if we liked each other. ( She looks at him but there was no response, so she walks up in front of him). We’d also go on picnics.

(XAVIER stops and looks at her)

Xavier: Picnics? Why picnics?

Analeese: I don’t know, it would be cute little dates in the park.

Xavier: We already come to the park. What would be different? 

Analeese: It would be more special of course! And we’d dance right over there in the afternoons. (ANALEESE points to a nearby field covered around trees). 

Xavier: Dance? Nah, I cannot dance.

Analeese: What? Here, I’ll teach you.

Xavier: Right now? Right here? In this exact moment?

Analeese: Yeah! Let’s go.

Xavier: No way! I am not dancing, nuh uh.

(Unconvinced XAVIER shakes his head)

Analeese: C’monnn please, just for a minute. (ANALEESE takes XAVIER’S hand).

Xavier: (XAVIER sighs and hesitantly agrees) Fine! Only a minute.

Analeese: First put this hand here (Places hand on waist. ANALEESE flinches.) And I put my hand here (She places her hand on his shoulder) Then we lock hands like this. (Slowly interlocks hands). Now just follow my lead.

(CYC is fully white and you can only see their shadows)

(Music lightly plays in the background) 

Analeese: Ow Xave! You’re stepping on my feet!

Xavier: Sorry! I’ve never danced in the middle of a basketball court in shorts and a hoodie with a girl before. 

Analeese: (ANALEESE smile softly) It’s fine, just keep going and try not to step on my feet.

(Music gets louder)

(They dance for a bit, and sit down on the bench laughing).

(Music fades away)

(ANALEESE is amazed and in shock.)

Xavier: Would we dance like that at our wedding?

(ANALEESE suddenly looks at XAVIER)

Analeese: W-wedding?

Xavier: Well after a relationship like that, we’ve got to get married. Obviously it’ll be after I proposed you know.

Analeese: How is that?

Xavier: Well we would have this huge afternoon of playing basketball, and doing your dancing thing, and right at sunset when the moment is perfect, I would propose. (XAVIER mimics it by getting down on one knee). Would you marry me Analeese Jane Mclairen? (ANALEESE laughs, clearly impressed.)

Analeese: Yes! And the wedding would be perfect. It would be this great wedding in-

Both: Paris. (ANALEESE looks shockingly at XAVIER).

Analeese: You remembered?

Xavier: You’ve been talking about having a wedding in Paris since the day we met Analeese, I think it stuck.

Analeese: Well it would be this great wedding with our close friends and family and we would have flowers-

Xavier: Fake flowers.

Analeese: Yes, fake flowers. (She stops). (Quietly) But that would only happen if we liked each other.

Xavier: Oh yeah, right. (Quick pause). Well what about kids? We got to have some kids.

Analeese: Yes one boy, and one girl. The boy has to be older because he has to be the overprotective one.

Xavier: Doesn’t matter what we have, but we’ll teach them how to ride their bikes, and we’ll take them down to the beach, and they can swim in the lake.

Analeese: (Bursts out laughing) Xave you don’t even know how to swim yet.

Xavier: Hey! Shut up! It’s hard. 

Analeese: It’s really not that hard to stay afloat 

Xavier: Yes it is!

Analeese: Okay okay, well if you don’t know how to swim, who’s going to teach the kids?

Xavier: I’ll leave that up to you, I’m going to teach my kids how to be the best basketball players. (XAVIER gets up and shoots his basketball) Swish!

Analeese: What if our kids don’t like basketball?

Xavier: How can they not like basketball? We’d watch the NBA games together and spend Saturday mornings playing! 

Analeese: But what if they want to play a different sport like soccer? 

Xavier: Okay fine unless it’s some boring sport like golf. No offence to any golf players but no just no. 

Analeese: Right! Like what is that? Or if they want to play Squash!

Xavier: Wait, that’s a sport? I thought that was some sort of pumpkin.

Analeese: (laughs) No it’s also a sport. I think.

Xavier: Well they have to play some sport, they can’t just sit around and do nothing active.

Analeese: Yup, no video games or anything if they aren’t active.

Xavier: I agree! (laughs) We’re going to be some really harsh parents.

Analeese: You bet. (Quietly) But again, that would only happen-

Xavier: (Loudly) If we liked each other. Yeah I get it (XAVIER stands up and faces away from ANALEESE)

(XAVIER is in deep thought)

Analeese: (Concerned) Xave? You okay?

Xavier: (Quickly) Hm, oh yeah, 100%.

Analeese:(Walks up behind him) What’s wrong? 

Xavier: (Turns around and shakes his head) This is going to sound really cheesy, but what if this is meant to be? What if all the stuff you said before is true? I mean what if Clara broke up with me because we were meant to be? It makes sense.

Analeese: Like fate? Or something?

Xavier: Yeah that?

Analeese: (Quietly) You really think so?

(They walk closer to each other)

Xavier: (Also quietly) Yeah, I really do.

(ANALEESE looks down for a moment, and then looks up into XAVIER’S eyes)

(There is a quiet pause, and they stand there taking in the moment)

(ANALEESE smiles, finally realizing what is happening. She sees the basketball lying near her)

Analeese: (Grabs basketball) I bet I can beat you in ball.

Xavier: (Smiles) What about your shirt? It is a really nice shirt, I wouldn’t want to ruin it while destroying you!

Analeese: You wish! First one to the tree and back gets to start the game.

Xavier: You’re on!

(They run off the stage) 

(Music Plays)

(Blackout)


THE END

One comment

  1. Hey Jovie,
    I just reread your play script and I feel the same way as when I first read it- I literally enjoyed everything about it. I loved the way it all played out in my head, it was easy to visualize what was happening with your use of detail and simple direction. You know I’m a sucker for a feel-good romance and this made me smile a little too much. I was so engrossed in Analeese’s and Xavier’s interaction, I could feel the effortlessly cute chemistry. Your playscript is straightforward and relaxed making it an easy read for everyone. Your writing already flows very well, and maybe going through it again to fix any minor grammatical and punctuation errors (there were only a couple) would make it even better. Overall, I think you did an amazing job and I can’t wait to read more of your play scripts in the future!

    This is only a suggestion/ idea by the way 🙂 :
    Xavier didn’t have to compliment Analeese’s shirt in the beginning since he does it more genuinely towards the end of the playscript. Since Analeese hopes he notices right at the beginning, I thought that just having him compliment her towards the end would have been more meaningful (she could also smile or react to that).

    Sincerely,

    Sarah

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *