Midnight Train (Cindy)

Goodbyes aren’t easy,

You would whisper.

Why, the train moves too fast

Yet you feel too grounded.

You grip onto the laugh track

Of the life you wish you had.

Riding the midnight train

Until reality settles in.

Oh, you can’t ride the midnight train

Forever.

You nod, you know.

But you’re forever-bound

To the stars.

Your eyes are never settled

On your reflection.

Don’t the stars look pretty tonight?

A heartache,

A pain,

That burrows deep into the solar system.

The stars cry in chaotic symphony.

A chaos that pulses through your veins

As strong as the stars;

Maybe, as strong as your heart.

Where are you going?

You don’t know.

You never know.

Because you’re reckless,

Careless,

Forever-bound.

You only want

The world to spin in slow-motion.

You only need

One last, awakening breath

Before you fall.

Acceptance

Crumbles at your fingertips.

You cry into your pillow at night,

The tears of your fate

Slipping into solitude.

Happiness,

Is that too hard to ask for?

Love,

Is that too hard to find?

You’ve been searching for answers

All your life.

Yet, you always end up

On the steps of the midnight train.

For once,

You’re tired.

Your bones ache of a longing;

Maybe, it’s desperation.

The sky is empty tonight.

Pitch black and awaiting.

A shiver runs down your spine.

You realized it now.

She’s waiting.

For so long,

You stared at the moon.

For so long,

She smiled at the moon.

A lopsided grin on her face,

She would murmur:

The moon always shines so bright.

Oh, don’t you shine just as bright?

Your light has dimmed,

But it will shine the brightest with her.

Because she is your moon in a valley of stars.

That’s all you want,

For her to be yours.

The moon greeted you

From your seat by the train window.

You always hated the moon.

It’s too bright.

It outshines all the good in your life.

And it holds the one thing you desired.

Her love. Her attention. Her heart.

You could sit for hours on the midnight train,

Reminiscing of the “could be’s”,

Yet you decide to walk away.

The tide is changing.

The morning is arising.

You grip onto the edge of the train,

And as you turn around

To the emptiness you once craved,

You realize that warmth is the answer

You’ve searched your whole life for.

One word leaves your lips:

Goodbye.

The midnight train disappears

Into the horizon of night.

You blossom under the sunrise.

You stare at the sun

And ask,

Does the moon shine as bright as you do?

5 comments

  1. Dear Cindy,
    I really enjoyed reading your piece, I found as I was reading, it like a conversation that was happening between someone and other times I felt like a story was being narrated by someone. I found the concept of this piece really interesting. In all I had such a fun time reading your work as it never fail to impress! I hope I can keep reading your work in the future as well!

    Sincerely,
    Karishma

    • Karishma,

      I’m glad you enjoyed reading my piece! I definitely tried to go for a whole nostalgic and reminiscent element throughout my writing, as the narrator is reflecting on their past conversations for a final time before moving on. Thank you for the kind words!

      Sincerely,
      Cindy

  2. Dear Cindy,

    I loved your piece! The poem was exquisite, I especially loved how you incorporated the moon into you piece, as it resembled more than just itself. It resembled the main character’s love interest, and the way you flawlessly compared her to the moon was so fun to read. Though the whole concept of feeling lost, and just riding the midnight train until you eventually find your purpose was amazing.

    I really enjoyed your piece, as I can’t even think of anything to improve on. Your poem was beautifully constructed, and I really enjoyed reading it!

    Sincerely, Amulya

    • Amulya,

      Thank you for reading my poem! I’m glad you enjoyed reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it. You definitely got the whole message of the poem that I was aiming for (aka the concept of riding the midnight train until you find a purpose).

      Sincerely,
      Cindy

  3. Dear Cindy,
    I loved this piece as it was so beautifully written. I felt like I was having a conversation with the poem and it allowed me to connect with it as well. I especially love the lines about Love and Happiness and the questions that followed, I thought that part was truly amazing. It was such a cool concept and I truly hope you keep writing like this!
    Sincerely, Jovan 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *